Truck Detention Statistics: Source-Checked Data for 2026

Key truck detention statistics
39.3% of stops involved detention in 2023, according to drivers’ reports summarized by the American Transportation Research Institute, or ATRI, in September 2024. This is a reported stop percentage, not a percentage of drivers. 2
20.01% of included for-hire stops involved detention in FMCSA’s 2012–2013 sample: 112,625 detained stops divided by 562,792 included stops, calculated by Louisville Dock Door Repair from published counts. 1
11.35% of all included stops involved detention in FMCSA’s 2012–2013 sample: 153,103 detained stops divided by 1,348,897 included stops, calculated from Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, or FMCSA, tables. 1
8.66 percentage points separate the for-hire and pooled rates in the 2012–2013 FMCSA sample, calculated before rounding. This measures a change in the group counted, not a change in detention over time. 1
$11.5 billion in lost productivity and $3.6 billion in direct expenses were separately estimated for detention in 2023 by ATRI. These are economic estimates, not collected detention fees. 2
More than 135 million detention hours were estimated for U.S. for-hire trucking in 2023 by ATRI. The published summary gives a lower bound, not an exact hour count. 2
1.4 hours was the mean additional time beyond the two-hour threshold at detained stops in FMCSA’s 2012–2013 observations. It was not the average delay across every facility visit. 3
A 15-minute increase in average dwell was associated with a modeled 6.2% relative increase in expected carrier crash rate in the U.S. DOT Inspector General’s analysis of 2013 data, published in 2018. The finding does not establish an individual driver’s crash probability or prove causation. 4
Truck detention statistics change with the carriers counted. Reaggregating FMCSA’s 2012–2013 stop counts produces a 20.01% detention rate for for-hire carriers versus 11.35% across all included operations—an 8.66-percentage-point difference within one historical sample, not an increase over time. 1
In this calculation, detention means a recorded facility stop longer than the study’s two-hour threshold. The year 2026 identifies this page’s verification date, not the observation year of every figure below.
Contents: Carrier-mix analysis · Methodology · Studies and definitions · Detention frequency · Detention duration · Costs and payment · Safety · Causes · Kentucky and Louisville · Current federal research · Limitations and conflicts · Attribution reference · FAQ · Sources.
How does carrier mix change the detention rate?
For-hire truckload and less-than-truckload operations account for 112,625 detained stops out of 562,792 included visits in FMCSA’s 2012–2013 sample. Private fleets account for 58.28% of the pooled sample’s visits and have a lower detention share, pulling the pooled percentage below the for-hire percentage. 1
A for-hire carrier transports other businesses’ freight for compensation; a private carrier transports its own business’s freight. The report separates for-hire operations into truckload, or TL, and less-than-truckload, or LTL, categories. LTL operations combine smaller shipments rather than treating each shipment as a full truckload. 1 4
The original observations came from two technology vendors: January–June 2013 for Vendor A and December 2012–May 2013 for Vendor B. The report retained stops lasting between 30 minutes and 10 hours and classified stops exceeding two hours as detained. 1
| Carrier group | Carriers | Detained stops | Included stops | Detained share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| For-hire truckload | 18 | 108,302 | 516,148 | 20.98% |
| For-hire less-than-truckload | 6 | 4,323 | 46,644 | 9.27% |
| Private | 7 | 40,478 | 786,105 | 5.15% |
| For-hire combined—reaggregated | 24 | 112,625 | 562,792 | 20.01% |
| All included operations—recalculated | 31 | 153,103 | 1,348,897 | 11.35% |
Source: FMCSA, Driver Detention Times in Commercial Motor Vehicle Operations, December 2014, Tables 6 and 14, printed pages 17 and 38. Counts checked and calculations reproduced by Louisville Dock Door Repair on September 11, 2026. The final two rows overlap the preceding rows and must not be added to them. 1
What does the 8.66-point difference show?
The overall percentage is weighted by the number of observed stops, not by giving each carrier—or each carrier category—equal influence. Private-fleet stops are numerous enough to have a substantial effect on the pooled result.
Excluding them answers a different question: What proportion of the included for-hire stops exceeded the threshold? It does not repair the original sampling limitations or turn the for-hire result into a national estimate.
The comparison isolates a change in which published records are included. It does not show that a truck would experience less detention if its operator became a private carrier, and it does not show what happened in any particular state.
How can the calculation be reproduced?
For-hire share: (108,302 + 4,323) ÷ (516,148 + 46,644) × 100 = 20.0118338569%.
Pooled share: 153,103 ÷ 1,348,897 × 100 = 11.3502365266%.
Difference: 20.0118338569 − 11.3502365266 = 8.6615973303 percentage points, rounded to 8.66.
The calculation uses stop counts. Averaging the three category percentages would give each category equal weight regardless of how many visits it contains and would answer neither of these questions.
Dataset download: truck-detention-carrier-mix-2026-09-11.csv — five carrier-group rows; columns include cohort_id, operation_type, carriers, detained_stops, not_detained_stops, included_stops, detained_share_percent, display_share_percent, row_type, component_ids, data_period, definition, method, source_id, source_locator, source_url and verified_date. Summary rows are explicitly marked as overlapping.
Reproduction files: Published-count inputs (CSV) · Calculation and validation script (Python) · Calculation output. Attribution reference.
How was this dataset built?
The September 11, 2026 dataset version contains 39 statistical records and five carrier-group rows. We checked published source material, compared definitions and denominators, and reproduced the carrier-group calculations; we did not collect new driver interviews or facility observations.
What was collected and checked?
We checked the counts in FMCSA’s original Tables 6 and 14 against the report’s page images, then recalculated each group’s share and the for-hire-versus-pooled difference. We also inspected the federal research brief, DOT Inspector General report, GAO interview report, both DAT release versions, official project descriptions, and the state and regional directories identified below. 1 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 13 14
ATRI findings were checked at the original issuer-summary level. Its full detention report was not successfully retrieved, so this page does not claim to have verified its complete questionnaire, weighting, subgroup sample sizes or economic model. Those limits remain attached to the ATRI entries. 2
Verification depth: ★ identifies entries checked against the underlying primary report or data, with calculations reproduced where applicable. ● identifies entries checked against an original issuer summary or directory; it does not imply that the complete underlying study or linked report was checked. The statistical and geographic files retain these distinctions.
The public statistics file preserves the measure, value, unit, qualifier, observation period, denominator, method, issuing organization, publication date, source location, source URL, verification depth and verification date. An unstated observation period is recorded as unstated, not silently assigned the publication year.
How were the numbers processed?
Counts were added before percentages were calculated. Differences were calculated from unrounded ratios, with two decimal places used for the displayed carrier-group percentages.
Bounds remain bounds: “more than 135 million” is not stored as an exact 135 million, and “fewer than 50%” is not converted to 50%. Unknown fields do not mean zero. Dollar estimates retain their source periods and are not adjusted for inflation.
No cross-study average, pooled national estimate, confidence interval or Kentucky extrapolation was created. The downloadable reproduction script checks the input subtotals and the reported aggregate results.
Dataset download: truck-detention-statistics-2026-09-11.csv — 39 source-attributed statistical records; columns include id, measure, value, unit, qualifier, data_period, denominator, method, source_id, source_title, publisher, source_publication_date, source_locator, source_url, verification_depth, verified_date and limitations.
Dataset download: truck-detention-study-comparison-2026-09-11.csv — five study-comparison rows identifying publication dates, observation periods, units, measures, interpretation limits and source references.
Machine-readable bundle: Dataset and metadata (JSON) contains the 39 statistical records, five carrier-group rows, five study-comparison rows, two geographic evidence-audit rows and source register. Source register (CSV) lists the original publications, verification dates and checked source locations.
Why do published truck detention percentages differ?
GAO’s approximately 68% figure from its 2010 interviews describes drivers who had experienced detention within the previous month; the recalculated FMCSA figure of 11.35% describes individual retained stops exceeding a duration threshold in its 2012–2013 sample. A driver-based percentage over a month and a stop-based percentage are not competing estimates of the same thing. 1 5
Dwell time means total time at a facility in the studies discussed here. Additional detention means time beyond the study’s chosen allowance; that allowance does not separate every minute of necessary loading from every minute of avoidable waiting. 1 3
| Source | Publication date | Observation period | Unit and measure | Comparison limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GAO-11-198 | January 26, 2011 | July–August 2010 interviews | Drivers reporting detention within a stated recall period | 204 of 302 reported detention within a month; this is not a count of detained loads. |
| FMCSA-RRR-13-060 | December 2014 | Two six-month windows spanning December 2012–June 2013 | Retained facility stops; share exceeding two hours | The recalculated 11.35% depends on the included carrier mix and duration filters. |
| DAT survey release | July 14, 2016 | Exact field dates not stated in the checked releases | Carrier responses about typical detention duration | The roughly 63% headline is not the share of all loads detained. The published carrier sample counts conflict. |
| DOT Inspector General ST2018019 | January 31, 2018 | Historical 2013 dwell/crash inputs; multiple economic input vintages | Carrier-level safety modeling and economic simulations | Some data share lineage with FMCSA’s earlier study. This is not an independent 2018 stop census. |
| ATRI detention release | September 10, 2024 | 2023 for headline frequency, time and cost figures | Reported detention and industry estimates | The 39.3% reported stop share has not been harmonized here with FMCSA’s threshold and sampling method. |
Source: Louisville Dock Door Repair comparison of the original FMCSA, GAO, DAT, DOT Inspector General and ATRI publications; verified September 11, 2026. 1 2 4 5 6 7
Why is OIG’s approximately 21% not substituted for 11.35%?
The Inspector General’s economic appendix describes approximately 21% of stops as exceeding two hours. We did not reproduce that rounded share’s exact denominator from the published carrier-group tables, so we do not claim that it is identical to—or fully explained by—the 20.01% for-hire reaggregation. 4
A separate detail in OIG’s safety appendix illustrates why source locations matter. Its single-vendor stop data begin with 2,984,340 observations and retain 1,052,727 after the 30-minute-to-10-hour restriction. The larger count is not the retained sample, and the smaller count should not automatically be attached to a percentage appearing in a different appendix. 4
Do these studies establish whether detention is getting better?
Not as a single continuous trend. Moving from an older filtered-stop sample to a later driver survey changes more than the calendar year.
A defensible trend comparison needs a consistent event definition, inclusion window, operation mix, population and weighting method—or an explicit adjustment for those differences. Simply placing 11.35% and 39.3% on a timeline would conceal the changes in what was measured. 1 2
Which drivers and operations report more detention?
ATRI’s 2024 release reports a 56.2% detention frequency for refrigerated-trailer drivers and 42.5% for fleets operating in the spot market, compared with 39.3% overall for 2023. These are reported subgroup figures, not adjusted estimates of the effect of trailer type or market participation. 2
A refrigerated trailer, often called a reefer, carries temperature-controlled freight. The spot market covers freight arranged for individual movements rather than solely through longer-term shipping arrangements. 1 15
| Reported group | Detained stop share | Meaning retained in this reference |
|---|---|---|
| Overall | 39.3% | Driver-reported overall stop share |
| Refrigerated-trailer drivers | 56.2% | Reported share for this equipment group |
| Women drivers | 49.1% | Reported share for this driver group |
| Fleets operating in the spot market | 42.5% | Reported share for this market group |
Source: American Transportation Research Institute, September 10, 2024 original research release. Full-report subgroup sample sizes and weighting were not independently verified. Verified September 11, 2026. 2
These groups can overlap. A woman driving refrigerated freight in the spot market could belong to several rows, so the percentages must not be added or treated as mutually exclusive shares of the industry. The release-level evidence also does not establish why the reported frequencies differ.
How long does truck detention last?
FMCSA’s research brief, based on 2012–2013 observations, reports 1.4 hours of additional detention at detained stops, corresponding to 3.4 hours at the facility after including the two-hour threshold. Neither figure is an average across all deliveries. 3
| Measure | Figure | Period and denominator | What it does not measure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Additional detention at a detained stop | 1.4 hours | FMCSA’s 2012–2013 observations; detained stops only | Average delay across all visits |
| Corresponding total facility time at a detained stop | 3.4 hours | Same detained-stop population; includes the two-hour allowance | Average total time for every delivery |
| Annual detention per driver, depending on sector | 117–209 hours | ATRI’s estimate for 2023, as summarized in its 2024 release | Duration of an individual visit or a single average for all drivers |
Source: FMCSA’s December 2014 research brief and ATRI’s September 2024 original release. Verified September 11, 2026. 2 3
The distinction changes the answer. “How long is a detained stop?” conditions the average on an already-delayed group. “How long does a typical delivery take?” requires the entire relevant set of visits, including visits that never cross the detention threshold.
An annual driver total introduces another denominator: the driver’s work year. It cannot be converted into a per-stop average without a compatible count of that driver’s stops and the study’s annualization method.
What does detention cost, and what do payment figures measure?
ATRI separately estimated $3.6 billion in direct expenses and $11.5 billion in lost productivity for 2023. The Inspector General’s older earnings and net-income estimates address different outcomes and a narrower for-hire truckload population; they are not interchangeable measures of the same loss. 2 4
| Measure | Published estimate | Population and time basis | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Direct expenses | $3.6 billion | ATRI’s 2023 trucking estimate, published in 2024 | Estimated expenses associated with detention |
| Lost productivity | $11.5 billion | ATRI’s 2023 trucking estimate, published in 2024 | Estimated productive capacity lost; not billed fees |
| Driver earnings reduction | $1.1–$1.3 billion annually; $1,281–$1,534 per driver | OIG’s historical for-hire truckload simulation, published in 2018 | Modeled reduction in earnings; not a current national pay survey |
| Carrier net-income reduction | $250.6–$302.9 million annually | OIG’s historical for-hire truckload simulation, published in 2018 | Modeled effect on net income, not gross revenue or all-industry operating expenses |
Source: ATRI’s September 2024 original release and DOT Inspector General report ST2018019, January 2018. Historical dollar amounts are presented as published, without inflation adjustment. Verified September 11, 2026. 2 4
The table keeps the categories separate rather than producing another combined total. Adding figures across studies would mix sectors, years and economic concepts. Validating an additive total within a study also requires checking how its model treats overlapping costs and forgone activity.
How often are detention invoices paid?
ATRI’s 2024 release says 94.5% of fleets charge detention fees, while fewer than half of those invoices are paid. The release does not separately specify the observation period for these two billing figures. 2
The first denominator is fleets; the second is invoices. Neither identifies the share of billed dollars collected, the share of drivers receiving detention pay, or the percentage of fleets receiving at least one payment. Those questions require different records.
Does the two-hour threshold decide whether a driver must be paid?
No. A research threshold classifies stops; it does not determine an employee’s compensable working time.
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division states that whether waiting time counts as work under the Fair Labor Standards Act depends on the circumstances. Employee coverage and the facts of the waiting period are separate questions from whether a carrier receives payment on a detention invoice. Treating the first two hours as universally unpaid would go beyond the evidence and the guidance. 8
What does the research show about detention and crash risk?
The Inspector General’s 2018 report estimated a 6.2% relative increase in expected carrier crash rate associated with a 15-minute increase in average dwell in its historical 2013 analysis. This is a modeled carrier-level relationship, not proof that one additional quarter-hour causes a particular driver’s crash risk to rise by that amount. 4
| Finding | Outcome actually described | Interpretation not supported |
|---|---|---|
| OIG: 6.2% relative change for 15 minutes of higher average dwell | Expected carrier crash rate in a historical model | A 6.2-percentage-point increase in an individual driver’s crash probability |
| ATRI: detained trucks averaged 14.6% higher speeds than non-detained trucks | Average-speed comparison in GPS analysis described in the 2024 release | Proof that every detained truck exceeded the speed limit, or that detention alone caused the difference |
Source: DOT Inspector General report ST2018019 and ATRI’s September 2024 original release. The inspected ATRI release does not separately identify the GPS observation period. Verified September 11, 2026. 2 4
A relative increase of 6.2% means multiplying the modeled baseline by 1.062. It does not mean adding 6.2 percentage points to a probability. The model, outcome and population remain part of the finding whenever the number is used.
Can the studies identify what caused a delay?
GAO’s discussion of contributing causes draws on 236 interviewees who reported previous detention in its 2010 research. About 43% cited facility limitations involving staffing, equipment or available loading bays; that response category is not the percentage of truck stops delayed by faulty equipment. 5
The distinction is especially important for loading-dock research. Insufficient equipment, insufficient staff, inadequate bay capacity and a broken dock door are not equivalent explanations. A combined interview category cannot establish the share attributable to any one of them.
Likewise, an arrival and departure timestamp can reveal a long visit without establishing whether the time was spent loading, waiting for freight, waiting for staff or handling paperwork. FMCSA’s original report explicitly could not separate waiting time from loading and unloading in the analyzed stop durations. Cause-specific claims need cause-specific observations. 1
What truck detention data were verified for Kentucky and Louisville?
No Kentucky or Jefferson County facility-stop detention rate was verified in this review. The checked sources were a federal directory entry for Kentucky’s 2022 freight plan and KIPDA’s directory describing a regional freight study completed in February 2019; the full linked reports were not successfully retrieved. 9 10
KIPDA is the Kentuckiana Regional Planning & Development Agency. Its regional planning material should not be treated as a Jefferson County dataset without checking the actual study boundaries. 10
| Geography | Official source checked | Verification completed | What can be concluded |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kentucky | U.S. DOT’s Kentucky Freight Plan directory | The directory identifies the 2022 state plan; the complete plan was not checked. | No state detention rate was established by this review. The directory alone does not prove that the plan contains—or lacks—one. |
| Louisville / Jefferson County, Kentucky | KIPDA Freight Planning directory | The directory identifies the regional study completed in February 2019; the full study was not checked. | No county detention rate was established. A regional study cannot automatically be assigned to the county. |
Source: U.S. Department of Transportation and KIPDA directory pages, checked September 11, 2026. This is an audit of inspected evidence, not a claim that local detention data do not exist. 9 10
What would a defensible Louisville detention dataset need?
A facility-based rate must identify visits to facilities inside the stated boundary. Trucks merely passing through Jefferson County, drivers employed in the area and warehouses located in the area are different populations.
The following is this page’s proposed reporting framework, not an existing local dataset or a legal reporting requirement.
| Data element | Why it matters for a facility-stop estimate |
|---|---|
| Facility location and geographic boundary | Distinguishes a Jefferson County visit from a visit elsewhere in a regional sample. |
| Unique visit identifier | Prevents duplicate tracking messages from becoming additional stops. |
| Observation dates and inclusion rules | Establishes the period, eligible visits and treatment of incomplete records. |
| Arrival and departure timestamps | Supports total facility-time calculation. |
| Appointment time and its meaning | Allows an appointment-relative measure to be distinguished from an arrival-relative measure. |
| Loading start and finish, where recorded | Helps separate active handling from other time at the facility. |
| Carrier operation and freight type | Makes the mix of private, truckload, LTL and temperature-controlled operations visible. |
| Sampling, missing-data and threshold documentation | Shows which visits enter the denominator and whether a sample supports a broader population estimate. |
Source: Louisville Dock Door Repair reporting framework, informed by the measurement and sampling limits documented in FMCSA’s original study and its later detention-project privacy assessment. No local event data were collected for this framework. Verified September 11, 2026. 1 14
Multiplying a national detention percentage by Kentucky trucking employment, traffic counts or warehouse counts would not supply the missing visit denominator. It would create a separate model whose assumptions would need to be justified.
Dataset download: kentucky-louisville-evidence-audit-2026-09-11.csv — two geographic evidence-audit rows; geography, source, document_vintage, material_checked, detention_rate_verified, meaning, source_url and verified_date. No local detention percentages are imputed.
What has changed in federal detention research in 2026?
FMCSA reported that its Split Duty Period pilot pre-test involved nine drivers from three carriers between May 18 and July 17, 2026. Its August 27 bulletin described preparation for a 2027 pilot launch and said shipper behavior would be monitored for increased detention; it did not report a new national detention rate. 13
Hours of service are federal limits governing driving and duty time. The pilot tests scheduling flexibility; it is separate from FMCSA’s project to improve detention measurement. 11 13
| Initiative | Issuing organization | What the inspected source establishes | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| Impact of Driver Detention Time on Safety and Operations | FMCSA; VTTI participation page | The checked pages describe research objectives and data collection. No final outcome report was located on those pages. | That no report exists anywhere, that planned enrollment has been achieved, or that project goals are completed findings. |
| Split Duty Period pilot | FMCSA, August 27, 2026 bulletin | A nine-driver, three-carrier pre-test was completed; the agency described a planned 2027 launch. | A rule change applying to every driver or a completed estimate of detention’s national prevalence. |
Source: FMCSA detention-project page, VTTI study page and FMCSA’s August 27, 2026 pilot bulletin. Verified September 11, 2026. 11 12 13
The distinction matters when a new announcement appears. An enrollment target, a finished pre-test and a published national result are different stages of evidence. Only the last can replace an earlier outcome estimate with a new measured result of comparable scope.
What are the limitations and unresolved source conflicts?
DAT’s own July 14, 2016 release names 257 carriers, while its same-date issuer-distributed PR Newswire release names 247. Both versions remain relevant to the source record; this page does not select an exact sample size or manufacture respondent counts from rounded percentages. 6 7
| Version | Release date | Carrier sample stated | Treatment in this dataset |
|---|---|---|---|
| DAT-hosted release | July 14, 2016 | 257 | Retained as the value printed in this version |
| DAT release distributed through PR Newswire | July 14, 2016 | 247 | Retained as the conflicting value printed in this version |
Source: DAT’s original hosted release and its original issuer-distributed wire release, both checked September 11, 2026. The resolved survey sample size remains unverified. 6 7
What else limits interpretation?
Large stop counts do not guarantee a representative carrier sample. FMCSA’s brief warns that the historical data came from a limited carrier group and included only two small carriers. Recalculating the table does not change that sampling design. 3
GAO’s interview results are not a nationally representative driver survey. GAO describes its 302-driver interview sample as nongeneralizable. Its percentages describe those interviewees, not the national driver population. 5
A time threshold is a proxy, not a minute-by-minute diagnosis. The historical stop filter excludes very short and very long visits. Its two-hour classification does not establish that every later minute was avoidable waiting. 1
Issuer summaries have narrower verification depth than complete reports. ATRI’s reported headline findings are included with attribution, but granular threshold, subgroup and trend claims requiring its full report are not presented as independently checked facts. 2
Local source discovery is not full-report verification. The Kentucky and KIPDA directory checks establish source leads, not the contents of documents that were not retrieved. 9 10
The dataset contains no new field observations, nationwide weighting, inflation conversion or local rate estimate. The verification date records the checks performed for this version; it does not advance the observation years of the underlying research.
How can this page be cited?
This page’s reference date is September 11, 2026. The fields below identify the publication, title and canonical address.
Publication: Louisville Dock Door Repair Research
Page title: Truck Detention Statistics: Source-Checked Data for 2026
URL: https://louisvilledockdoorrepair.com/resources/truck-detention-statistics/
Last updated: September 11, 2026
What else should readers know about truck detention statistics?
Two different denominators explain many apparent contradictions: people reporting an experience and individual facility visits meeting a threshold. FMCSA’s 3.4-hour figure presents another distinction—it concerns detained stops, not all visits. 1 3 5
What is truck driver detention?
Truck driver detention is delay associated with loading or unloading at a shipping or receiving facility. Definitions vary; the historical FMCSA calculation on this page classifies retained stops longer than two hours as detained. 1
Does ATRI’s 39.3% mean 39.3% of drivers?
No. ATRI’s September 2024 release reports detention at 39.3% of stops in 2023, based on driver reports. It is not a percentage of drivers. 2
Are these figures measurements from 2026?
Not generally. September 11, 2026 is the verification date. The core FMCSA observations are from 2012–2013, and ATRI’s headline frequency, time and cost findings describe 2023. 1 2
Is average truck detention 3.4 hours at every delivery?
No. FMCSA’s historical brief describes 3.4 hours of total facility time at detained stops, including 1.4 hours beyond its two-hour allowance. That is not an all-delivery average. 3
Can the national figures be applied to Louisville?
Not as a measured local rate. A Louisville or Jefferson County estimate needs a defined local visit population, compatible detention definition and documented denominator. This review did not verify such an estimate. 9 10
Do the figures prove detention increased over time?
No single trend follows from comparing these headline percentages. The studies use different populations, definitions and methods, and the original analysis on this page compares carrier groups within one historical sample. 1 2 5
Which original sources support this page?
The source register below identifies the issuing organizations and the material checked for the September 11, 2026 version. Publication dates, observation dates and the limits of directory or summary-level checks are kept separate.
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Driver Detention Times in Commercial Motor Vehicle Operations, report FMCSA-RRR-13-060, December 2014. Methods and Tables 6 and 14; observations from December 2012–June 2013 across two vendor windows. https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/view/dot/193/dot_193_DS1.pdf
American Transportation Research Institute. New Research Documents Substantial Financial and Safety Impacts from Truck Driver Detention, September 10, 2024. Original issuer release; headline stop, time and cost findings describe 2023. Full report not independently checked. https://truckingresearch.org/2024/09/new-research-documents-substantial-financial-and-safety-impacts-from-truck-driver-detention/
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Research Brief: Driver Detention Times in Commercial Motor Vehicle Operations, December 2014. Two-page summary of the historical study’s results and limitations. https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/view/dot/194/dot_194_DS1.pdf
U.S. Department of Transportation, Office of Inspector General. Estimates Show Commercial Driver Detention Increases Crash Risks and Costs, but Current Data Limit Further Analysis, report ST2018019, January 31, 2018. Historical 2013 dwell/crash analysis; economic estimates use multiple historical inputs. Safety sample description: printed page 19; economic dwell discussion: printed pages 59–60. https://www.oig.dot.gov/sites/default/files/library-items/40_FMCSA%20Driver%20Detention%20Final%20Report_R.pdf
U.S. Government Accountability Office. Commercial Motor Carriers: More Could Be Done to Determine Impact of Excessive Loading and Unloading Wait Times on Hours of Service Violations, GAO-11-198, January 26, 2011. Official full text; driver interviews conducted July–August 2010. https://www.gao.gov/assets/a315300.html
DAT Solutions. 63 Percent of Drivers are Detained for More Than 3 Hours Per Stop: DAT Solutions, July 14, 2016. DAT-hosted release; states 257 carriers. Exact survey field dates not stated in the checked release. https://www.dat.com/company/news-events/news-releases/63-percent-of-drivers-are-detained-for-more-than-3-hours-per-stop-dat-solutions
DAT Solutions, distributed through PR Newswire. 63 Percent of Drivers are Detained for More Than 3 Hours Per Stop: DAT Solutions, July 14, 2016. Issuer-distributed version; states 247 carriers. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/63-percent-of-drivers-are-detained-for-more-than-3-hours-per-stop-dat-solutions-300298617.html
U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. Fact Sheet #22: Hours Worked Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Waiting-time guidance checked September 11, 2026. https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/22-flsa-hours-worked
U.S. Department of Transportation. Kentucky Freight Plan directory entry, updated December 5, 2023, identifying the 2022 plan. Directory checked; full linked plan not retrieved. https://www.transportation.gov/mission/office-secretary/office-policy/freight/freight-infrastructure-and-policy/kentucky-freight
Kentuckiana Regional Planning & Development Agency. Freight Planning. Directory describes the regional study as completed in February 2019. Directory checked; full linked study not retrieved. https://www.kipda.org/transportation/major-functions/freight-planning/ Organization name: https://www.kipda.org/
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Impact of Driver Detention Time on Safety and Operations, page updated October 3, 2025. Project description checked; no final outcome report located on the inspected page. https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/research-and-analysis/impact-driver-detention-time-safety-and-operations
Virginia Tech Transportation Institute. Impact of Driver Detention Time on Safety and Operations. Study-description and participation page checked September 11, 2026; no final outcome report located on the inspected page. https://www.vtti.vt.edu/driver-detention/index.html
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. FMCSA Advances Hours of Service Pilot Programs for America’s Truck Drivers, August 27, 2026. Split Duty Period pre-test details and planned 2027 launch. https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/newsroom/fmcsa-advances-hours-service-pilot-programs-americas-truck-drivers
U.S. Department of Transportation / Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. Privacy Impact Assessment: Impact of Driver Detention Time on Safety and Operations (Detention Time). DOT’s accompanying publication page is dated June 24, 2024. Measurement limitations and proposed project data collection. https://www.transportation.gov/sites/dot.gov/files/2024-06/Privacy%20-%20FMCSA%20-%20Detention%20Time%20-%20PIA%20-%202024.pdf Accompanying publication page: https://www.transportation.gov/resources/individuals/privacy/impact-driver-detention-time-safety-and-operations-detention-time
DAT iQ Help Center. DAT Shipper Spot Rate FAQ. The definition distinguishes a one-time, on-demand spot movement from a long-term contract. Checked September 11, 2026. https://iq.support.dat.com/9-industry-information-0ab635a7/dat-shipper-spot-rate-faq-89ebe8cd
All source checks above were performed for this version on September 11, 2026. A source’s presence in this list does not imply that every document linked from it was read.
Last verified: September 11, 2026.
Byline: Louisville Dock Door Repair.
Louisville Dock Door Repair Research is the independent research and reference section of louisvilledockdoorrepair.com.